Name change confirmed for Stratford's Oldest School
The oldest primary school in Stratford-upon-Avon is changing its name to reflect its historic link.
The Willows Church of England Primary, which was created nearly 200 years ago, will be known as ‘Holy Trinity Church of England Primary’, after its founder Holy Trinity Church.
The decision has been made following a period of consultation with parents, teachers, the Parochial Church Council and the Local Education Authority.
Chair of Governors Kay Dyer said, “Holy Trinity is one of the most famous and visited churches in England and as this is the church where our school began, this makes us very special. Residents and the wider community are not always aware of the connection, yet as a school and church we are deeply proud of this link. As we continue to work closely together, we want to celebrate this through our shared name.”
Holy Trinity Church, where Shakespeare is buried, founded the first primary school in Stratford upon Avon in 1823. It became known as The Willows C of E school in the 1980’s when it moved site to the road of that name.
The Reverend Patrick Taylor explained, “The school is a Church school, not a faith school. This means that while it is a Church of England School with a Christian ethos, it is fully inclusive and teaches about all faiths. In fact, as a Church and a school, we want the pupils to experience life in all its fullness.”
It is proposed that the name change will be effective from September 2019