Shakespeare’s enduring association with the church of his baptism and burial is at the heart of our exploration of Holy Trinity Church in Stratford-upon-Avon.
We begin with the pre-Reformation involvement of the Guild of the Holy Cross and the College of Priests in the development of its liturgy and worship, notably in the much-loved Lady Chapel and in the richly-endowed St Thomas Becket chantry chapel, which became a focus of veneration for generations of pilgrims. Revd Dr Paul Edmondson then makes a tour of the building in the company of Master Shakespeare himself. Thereafter we discuss the Bawdy Court, the church’s ‘she edition’ of the 1611 King James Bible, and the increasing influence of the Puritan movement on both church and town. We conclude with the history of the Clopton Chapel from its medieval origins to its presence in Holy Trinity today. The eight chapters offer lavishly-illustrated and authoritative insights into one of England’s most famous, beautiful and historically significant parish churches.
Printing is strictly limited to 100 copies, individually numbered. These have now been sold.
This book stems from the work of architects, conservators and historians who have recently gained new insights into the ancient building of Holy Trinity Church in Stratford-upon-Avon. From the Shakespeare Family gravestones to the stormy association between the Church and the Guild of the Holy Cross, and from the architecture of the church and conservation of its monuments to the extraordinary story of the Thomas Becket altar, the chapters offer richly-illustrated and informative commentary on one of England’s most famous and beautiful churches.
All proceeds go to the Friends of Shakespeare's Church for conservation and maintenance.
Copies can be purchased from the Church Shop